Ian looks serious Ian McQueen music for young players
biographyreviews & commentarieseducational activitieschamber musicorchestral musicvocal musicoperasorder music & recordingslatest activitylinkscontact

Alice First and Last (1984)

for wind quintet

Duration: ca. 10 minutes

These six character pieces were originally written for a dance performance. There are six short movements, based on episodes from "Alice through the Looking Glass":

I Wood of No Name
II Tango (The Walrus and the Carpenter) is an instrumental "setting" of Carol's poem
III Tweedledee and Tweedledum is partly a "recitative" based on Lewis Carol's text
IV The White Knight
V Humpty Dumpty's March
VI Epilogue (A Boat beneath a Sunny Sky) "sets" Carol's final poem appended to the book

Other Music for Young Players or Amateurs:
Infinity Contained
Suivez la Piste!
Dayspring - a Madrigal for May
Three Carols for 1984
By Fire [Per Ignem]
The Owl and the Pussycat
Four Traditional Christmas Carol Arrangements
The Darkness Declares
Fanfares and Nocturnes
Ring Out Wild Bells!